EMMSAD 2012 was organized in Gdansk, Poland, in June, 2012, in conjunction with CAiSE'12.

The field of information systems analysis and design includes numerous information modeling methods and notations (e.g., ER, ORM, UML, Archimate, EPC, DEMO, DFDs, BPMN) that are typically evolving. Even with some attempts toward standardization (e.g., UML for object-oriented design), new modeling methods are constantly being introduced, many of which differ only marginally from existing approaches. These ongoing changes significantly impact the way information systems are being analyzed and designed in practice. EMMSAD focuses on exploring, evaluating, and enhancing current information modeling methods and methodologies. Though the need for such studies is well recognized, there is a paucity of such research in the literature.

The objective of the conference is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners interested in modeling methods in systems analysis and design to meet and exchange research ideas and results. It also gives the participants an opportunity to present their research papers and experience reports, and to take part in open discussions.

EMMSAD 2012 was the 17th in a series of events, previously held in Heraklion, Barcelona, Pisa, Heidelberg, Stockholm, Interlaken, Toronto, Velden, Riga, Porto, Luxembourg, Trondheim, Montpellier, Amsterdam, Hammamet and London. This year we had 28 papers submitted with authors from 19 countries and five continents (Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Germany, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, UK, USA). After an extensive review process by a distinguished international Program Committee, with each paper receiving at least three reviews, we accepted the 13 papers that appear in these proceedings. Congratulations to the successful authors!


Apart from the contribution by paper authors, the quality of EMMSAD 2012 depended in no small way on the generous contribution of time and effort by the Program Committee and the additional reviewers. Their work is greatly appreciated. We also express our sincere thanks to the CAiSE Organizing Committee. Continuing with our very successful collaboration with IFIP WG 8.1 that started in 1997, this year’s event was again a joint activity between CAiSE and WG 8.1 and this year also with AIS-SIGSAND. Another co-organizer this year was the Polish chapter of AIS, European Research Centre for Information Systems, Enterprise Architecture Network, the ORM Foundation, and University of Gdansk, Poland.

Workshop Co-Chairs

  1. John Krogstie, SINTEF and Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology, Norway

  2. Stanislaw Wrycza, University of Gdansk, Poland

  3. Terry Halpin, LogicBlox, Australia and INTI International University, Malaysia

  4. Erik Proper, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

Workshop Steering Committee

  1. Keng Siau, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

  2. Terry Halpin, NLogicBlox, Australia and INTI International University, Malaysia

  3. John Krogstie, SINTEF and Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology, Norway


The proceedings with the accepted papers are included in the LNBIP series of Springer.

Program Committee

  1. Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

  2. Antonia Albani, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  3. Raian Ali, Lero, University of Limerick, Ireland

  4. Eduard Babkin, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia

  5. Herman Balsters, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

  6. Annie Becker, Florida Institute of Technology, USA

  7. Giuseppe Berio, University of Torino, Italy

  8. Nacer Boudjlida, Loria, France

  9. Andy Carver, INTI International University, Malaysia

  10. Olga De Troyer, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

  11. John Erickson, University of Nebraska-Omaha, USA

  12. Peter Fettke, Institute for Information Systems (IWi) at the DFKI, Germany

  13. Remigijus Gustas, Karlstad University, Sweden

  14. Wolfgang Hesse, University of Marburg, Germany

  15. Stijn Hoppenbrouwers, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

  16. Jon Iden, Norges Handelshøyskole, Bergen, Norway

  17. Marite Kirikova, Riga Technical University, Latvia

  18. Bogdan Lent, University of Applied Sciences, Zurich, Switzerland

  19. Pericles Loucopoulos, Loughborough University, UK

  20. Kalle Lyytinen, Case Western Reserve University, US

  21. Leszek Maciaszek, Macquarie University Sydney, Australia

  22. Florian Matthes, Technical University München, Germany

  23. Raimundas Matulevičius, University of Tartu, Estonia

  24. Graham McLeod, University of Cape Town, South Africa

  25. Jan Mendling, Humboldt University, Berlin

  26. Wolfgang Molnar, Public Research Centre Tudor, Luxembourg

  27. Tony Morgan, INTI International University, Malaysia

  28. Haralambos Mouratidis, University of East London, UK

  29. Bjørn Erik Munkvold, University of AGder, Norway

  30. Andreas L. Opdahl, University of Bergen, Norway

  31. Sietse Overbeek, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  32. Hervé Panetto, University Henri Poincaré Nancy I, France

  33. Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

  34. Anne Persson, University of Skövde, Sweden

  35. Michaël Petit, University of Namur, Belgium

  36. Nava Pliskin, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  37. Paul Ralph, Lancaster University, UK

  38. Jolita Ralyté, University of Geneva, Switzerland

  39. Sudha Ram, University of Arizona, USA

  40. Jan Recker, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  41. Colette Rolland, University of Paris 1, France

  42. Michael Rosemann, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  43. Matti Rossi,Helsinki School of Economics, Finland

  44. Kurt Sandkuhl, Jönköping University, Sweden

  45. Peretz Shoval, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  46. Piotr Soja, Cracow Economic University, Poland

  47. Guttorm Sindre, University of Trondheim, Norway

  48. Il Yeol Song, Drexel University, USA

  49. Janis Stirna, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

  50. Inge van de Weerd, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

  51. Wil van der Aalst, Eindhoven University, The Netherlands

  52. Dirk van der Linden, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

  53. Johan Versendaal, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

  54. Carson Woo, University of British Columbia, USA

  55. Jelena Zdravkovic, Stockholm University

  56. Martin Zelm, CIMOSA, Germany

  57. Iryna Zolotaryova, Kharkiv National University of Economics, Ukraine

  58. Pär Ågerfalk, Uppsala University, Sweden

Additional Reviewers

  1. Lamia Abo Zaid

  2. Ralf Abraham

  3. Nils Labusch

  4. Eduardo Loures

  5. Christian Neubert

  6. Ivan Sidorenko

  7. Alexander Steinhoff

  8. Jürgen Walter

  9. Iyad Zikra