EMMSAD 2014 was co-located with the CAiSE 2014 conference held from 16-20 June 2014 in Thessaloniki, Greece.

The field of information systems analysis and design includes numerous information modeling methods and notations (e.g., ER, ORM, UML, Archimate, EPC, DEMO, DFDs, BPMN) that are typically evolving. Even with some attempts toward standardization (e.g., UML for object-oriented design), new modeling methods are constantly being introduced, many of which differ only marginally from existing approaches. These ongoing changes significantly impact the way information systems are being analyzed and designed in practice. EMMSAD focuses on exploring, evaluating, and enhancing current information modeling methods and methodologies. Though the need for such studies is well recognized, there is a paucity of such research in the literature.

The objective of the conference is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners interested in modeling methods in systems analysis and design to meet and exchange research ideas and results. It also gives the participants an opportunity to present their research papers and experience reports, and to take part in open discussions.

EMMSAD 2014 was the 19th in a series of events, previously held in Valencia, Heraklion, Barcelona, Pisa, Heidelberg, Stockholm, Interlaken, Toronto, Velden, Riga, Porto, Luxembourg, Trondheim, Montpellier, Amsterdam, Hammamet, London and Gdansk. This year we had 27 papers submitted with authors from 24 countries and five continents. After an extensive review process by a distinguished international Program Committee, with each paper receiving at least three reviews, we accepted 9 full papers and 3 short papers that appear in these proceedings. Congratulations to the successful authors!


Apart from the contribution by paper authors, the quality of EMMSAD 2014 depended in no small way on the generous contribution of time and effort by the Program Committee and the additional reviewers. Their work is greatly appreciated. We also express our sincere thanks to the CAiSE Organizing Committee.


  1. Henderik A. Proper, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg, and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

  2. John Krogstie, Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology, Norway

  3. Khaled Gaaloul, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

Advisory committee:

  1. Keng Siau, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA

  2. Terry Halpin, INTI International University, Malaysia


The proceedings with the accepted papers are included in the LNBIP series of Springer.

Program Committee

  1. Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

  2. Antonia Albani, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  3. Raian Ali, Lero, University of Limerick, Ireland

  4. David Aveiro, Madeira University

  5. Eduard Babkin, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia

  6. Herman Balsters, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

  7. Annie Becker, Florida Institute of Technology, USA

  8. Giuseppe Berio, University of Torino, Italy

  9. Nacer Boudjlida, Loria, France

  10. Andy Carver, INTI International University, Malaysia

  11. Olga De Troyer, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

  12. Marwane El Kharbili, Accenture GmbH, Germany

  13. John Erickson, University of Nebraska-Omaha, USA

  14. Peter Fettke, Institute for Information Systems (IWi) at the DFKI, Germany

  15. Wided Guedria, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

  16. Sérgio Guerreiro: Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias, Lisbon, Portugal

  17. Remigijus Gustas, Karlstad University, Sweden

  18. Wolfgang Hesse, University of Marburg, Germany

  19. Stijn Hoppenbrouwers, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

  20. Philip Huysmans, University of Antwerp

  21. Jon Iden, Norges Handelshøyskole, Bergen, Norway

  22. Marite Kirikova, Riga Technical University, Latvia

  23. Bogdan Lent, University of Applied Sciences, Zurich, Switzerland

  24. Pericles Loucopoulos, Loughborough University, UK

  25. Kalle Lyytinen, Case Western Reserve University, US

  26. Leszek Maciaszek, Wroclaw University of Economics, Poland and Macquarie University Sydney, Australia

  27. Florian Matthes, Technical University München, Germany

  28. Raimundas Matulevičius, University of Tartu, Estonia

  29. Graham McLeod, University of Cape Town, South Africa

  30. Jan Mendling, Humboldt University, Berlin

  31. Wolfgang Molnar, Public Research Centre Tudor, Luxembourg

  32. Tony Morgan, INTI International University, Malaysia

  33. Haralambos Mouratidis, University of East London, UK

  34. Andreas L. Opdahl, University of Bergen, Norway

  35. Sietse Overbeek, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  36. Hervé Panetto, University Henri Poincaré Nancy I, France

  37. Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

  38. Anne Persson, University of Skövde, Sweden

  39. Michaël Petit, University of Namur, Belgium

  40. Georgios Plataniotis, CRP Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

  41. Nava Pliskin, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  42. Paul Ralph, Lancaster University, UK

  43. Jolita Ralyté, University of Geneva, Switzerland

  44. Sudha Ram, University of Arizona, USA

  45. Jan Recker, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  46. Colette Rolland, University of Paris 1, France

  47. Michael Rosemann, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  48. Matti Rossi, Helsinki School of Economics, Finland

  49. Kurt Sandkuhl, Jönköping University, Sweden

  50. Peretz Shoval, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  51. Piotr Soja, Cracow Economic University, Poland

  52. Janis Stirna, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

  53. Inge van de Weerd, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

  54. Wil van der Aalst, Eindhoven University, The Netherlands

  55. Dirk van der Linden, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

  56. Johan Versendaal, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

  57. Carson Woo, University of British Columbia, Canada

  58. Jelena Zdravkovic, Stockholm University

  59. Martin Zelm, CIMOSA, Germany

  60. Iryna Zolotaryova, Kharkiv National University of Economics, Ukraine

  61. Pär Ågerfalk, Uppsala University, Sweden