EMMSAD 2018 was co-located with the CAiSE 2018 conference and held from 11-12 June 2018 in Tallinn, Estonia. It collaborated with the COGNISE and ASDENCA workshops. The joint event was named EMMSAD++.

The objective of the EMMSAD conference series is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners interested in modelling methods for Systems Analysis and Development (SA&D) to meet and exchange research ideas and results. To this end, the focus is on both insights in modelling for SA&D in general, and the fostering of cross-pollination of insights between different specific modelling approaches (such as business process modelling, enterprise modelling, value modelling, capability modeling, etc.).

EMMSAD provides the participants an opportunity to present their research papers and experience reports, and to take part in open discussions. We solicited papers on topics included (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Modelling in general:

    • Modelling in an agile context

    • Evolution of models

    • The process of modelling

    • Quality and metrics of models

    • Human-model Interaction

    • Teaching modelling

  • Evaluation and comparison:

    • Empirical studies of modelling

    • Experiences in modelling

  • Modelling methods and tools:

    • Specific approaches (business process, enterprise, value, capability, ontology, … modelling)

    • Domain-specific Modelling

  • Modelling in novel contexts:

    • Regulation & compliance

    • Business analytics & big data

    • Cloud environments

    • The Internet of Things

    • Cyber-physical systems


  1. Iris Reinhartz-Berger, University of Haifa, Israel

  2. Wided Guédria, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg

  3. Palash Bera, Saint Louis University, USA

  4. Sérgio Guerreiro, Instituto Superior Técnico / Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal

Advisory committee:

  1. John Krogstie, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) , Norway

  2. Henderik A. Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg, and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands


The LNBIP proceedings can be found at https://www.springer.com/gp/book/9783319917030.


The program can be found here.

Program Committee

  1. Tony Clark, Sheffield Hallam University, UK

  2. Dolors Costal, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain

  3. Sybren De Kinderen, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg

  4. Claudio Di-Ciccio, Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria

  5. John Erickson, University of Nebraska-Omaha, USA, USA

  6. Neil Ernst, Software Engineering Institute, USA

  7. Peter Fettke, German Research Center for Artificial Inteilligence (DFKI) and Saarland University, Germany

  8. Kathrin Figl, Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU), Austria

  9. Mohamad Gharib, University of Florence, Italy

  10. Jeff Gray, University of Alabama, USA

  11. Stijn Hoppenbrouwers, HAN University of Applied Sciences, The Netherlands

  12. Jennifer Horkoff, City University London, UK

  13. Timothy Lethbridge, University of Ottawa, Canada

  14. Florian Matthes, Technische Universität München, Germany

  15. Raimundas Matulevicius, University of Tartu, Estonia

  16. Haralambos Mouratidis, University of Brighton, UK

  17. Andreas L Opdahl, University of Bergen, Norway

  18. Sietse Overbeek, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

  19. Oscar Pastor Lopez, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain

  20. Robert Pergl, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic

  21. Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

  22. Anne Persson, University of Skövde, Sweden

  23. Nuno Pombo, University of Beira Interior, Portugal

  24. Jolita Ralyté, University of Geneva, Switzerland

  25. Alberto Silva, INESC-ID / Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal

  26. Sase Singh, Elizabeth City State University, USA

  27. Janis Stirna, Stockholm University, Sweden

  28. Arnon Sturm, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  29. Dirk van der Linden, University of Haifa, Israel

  30. Steven van Kervel, Formetis BV, The Netherlands

  31. Carson Woo, University of British Columbia, Canada

  32. Michael Wufka, Douglas College, Canada

  33. Marielba Zacarias, Research Centre for Spatial and Organizational Dynamics, Universidade do Algarve, Angola

  34. Anna Zamansky, University of Haifa, Israel

  35. Jelena Zdravkovic, Stockholm University, Sweden