EMMSAD 2013 was organized in Valencia, Spain, in June, 2013, in conjunction with CAiSE'13.

The field of information systems analysis and design includes numerous information modeling methods and notations (e.g., ER, ORM, UML, Archimate, EPC, DEMO, DFDs, BPMN) that are typically evolving. Even with some attempts toward standardization (e.g., UML for object-oriented design), new modeling methods are constantly being introduced, many of which differ only marginally from existing approaches. These ongoing changes significantly impact the way information systems are being analyzed and designed in practice. EMMSAD focuses on exploring, evaluating, and enhancing current information modeling methods and methodologies. Though the need for such studies is well recognized, there is a paucity of such research in the literature.

The objective of the conference is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners interested in modeling methods in systems analysis and design to meet and exchange research ideas and results. It also gives the participants an opportunity to present their research papers and experience reports, and to take part in open discussions.

EMMSAD 2013 was the 18th in a series of events, previously held in Heraklion, Barcelona, Pisa, Heidelberg, Stockholm, Interlaken, Toronto, Velden, Riga, Porto, Luxembourg, Trondheim, Montpellier, Amsterdam, Hammamet, London and Gdansk. This year we had 27 papers submitted with authors from 18 countries and six continents. After an extensive review process by a distinguished international Program Committee, with each paper receiving at least three reviews, we accepted the 10 full papers and 2 short papers that appear in these proceedings. Congratulations to the successful authors!


Apart from the contribution by paper authors, the quality of EMMSAD 2013 depended in no small way on the generous contribution of time and effort by the Program Committee and the additional reviewers. Their work is greatly appreciated. We also express our sincere thanks to the CAiSE Organizing Committee.


  1. Henderik A. Proper, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg, and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

  2. Terry Halpin, INTI International University, Malaysia and LogicBlox, Australia

  3. John Krogstie, Norwegian Institute of Science and Technology, Norway

  4. Khaled Gaaloul, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

Advisory committee:

  1. Keng Siau, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA


The proceedings with the accepted papers are included in the LNBIP series of Springer.

Program Committee

  1. Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

  2. Antonia Albani, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  3. Raian Ali, Lero, University of Limerick, Ireland

  4. David Aveiro, Madeira University

  5. Eduard Babkin, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia

  6. Herman Balsters, University of Groningen, The Netherlands

  7. Annie Becker, Florida Institute of Technology, USA

  8. Giuseppe Berio, University of Torino, Italy

  9. Nacer Boudjlida, Loria, France

  10. Andy Carver, INTI International University, Malaysia

  11. Olga De Troyer, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

  12. John Erickson, University of Nebraska-Omaha, USA

  13. Peter Fettke, Institute for Information Systems (IWi) at the DFKI, Germany

  14. Wided Guedria, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

  15. Sérgio Guerreiro: Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias, Lisbon, Portugal

  16. Remigijus Gustas, Karlstad University, Sweden

  17. Wolfgang Hesse, University of Marburg, Germany

  18. Stijn Hoppenbrouwers, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands

  19. Philip Huysmans, University of Antwerp

  20. Jon Iden, Norges Handelshøyskole, Bergen, Norway

  21. Marite Kirikova, Riga Technical University, Latvia

  22. Bogdan Lent, University of Applied Sciences, Zurich, Switzerland

  23. Pericles Loucopoulos, Loughborough University, UK

  24. Kalle Lyytinen, Case Western Reserve University, US

  25. Leszek Maciaszek, Wroclaw University of Economics, Poland and Macquarie University Sydney, Australia

  26. Florian Matthes, Technical University München, Germany

  27. Raimundas Matulevičius, University of Tartu, Estonia

  28. Graham McLeod, University of Cape Town, South Africa

  29. Jan Mendling, Humboldt University, Berlin

  30. Wolfgang Molnar, Public Research Centre Tudor, Luxembourg

  31. Tony Morgan, INTI International University, Malaysia

  32. Haralambos Mouratidis, University of East London, UK

  33. Andreas L. Opdahl, University of Bergen, Norway

  34. Sietse Overbeek, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

  35. Hervé Panetto, University Henri Poincaré Nancy I, France

  36. Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

  37. Anne Persson, University of Skövde, Sweden

  38. Michaël Petit, University of Namur, Belgium

  39. Nava Pliskin, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  40. Paul Ralph, Lancaster University, UK

  41. Jolita Ralyté, University of Geneva, Switzerland

  42. Sudha Ram, University of Arizona, USA

  43. Jan Recker, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  44. Colette Rolland, University of Paris 1, France

  45. Michael Rosemann, Queensland University of Technology, Australia

  46. Matti Rossi, Helsinki School of Economics, Finland

  47. Kurt Sandkuhl, Jönköping University, Sweden

  48. Peretz Shoval, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

  49. Piotr Soja, Cracow Economic University, Poland

  50. Janis Stirna, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden

  51. Inge van de Weerd, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

  52. Wil van der Aalst, Eindhoven University, The Netherlands

  53. Dirk van der Linden, Public Research Centre Henri Tudor, Luxembourg

  54. Johan Versendaal, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands

  55. Carson Woo, University of British Columbia, Canada

  56. Jelena Zdravkovic, Stockholm University

  57. Martin Zelm, CIMOSA, Germany

  58. Iryna Zolotaryova, Kharkiv National University of Economics, Ukraine

  59. Pär Ågerfalk, Uppsala University, Sweden