EMMSAD 2015 was co-located with the CAiSE 2015 conference held from 8-9 June 2015 in Stockholm, Sweden.

The field of information systems analysis and design includes numerous information modeling methods and notations (e.g., ER, ORM, UML, Archimate, EPC, DEMO, DFDs, BPMN) that are typically evolving. Even with some attempts toward standardization (e.g., UML for object-oriented design), new modeling methods are constantly being introduced, many of which differ only marginally from existing approaches. These ongoing changes significantly impact the way information systems are being analyzed and designed in practice. EMMSAD focuses on exploring, evaluating, and enhancing current information modeling methods and methodologies. Though the need for such studies is well recognized, there is a paucity of such research in the literature.

The objective of the conference is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners interested in modeling methods in systems analysis and design to meet and exchange research ideas and results. It also gives the participants an opportunity to present their research papers and experience reports, and to take part in open discussions.

EMMSAD 2015 was the 20th in a series of events, previously held in Valencia, Heraklion, Barcelona, Pisa, Heidelberg, Stockholm, Interlaken, Toronto, Velden, Riga, Porto, Luxembourg, Trondheim, Montpellier, Amsterdam, Hammamet, London, Gdansk and Thessaloniki. This year we had 31 papers submitted with authors from 22 countries and five continents. After an extensive review process by a distinguished international Program Committee, with each paper receiving at least three reviews, we accepted 11 full papers and 4short papers that appear in these proceedings. Congratulations to the successful authors!


Apart from the contribution by paper authors, the quality of EMMSAD 2015 depended in no small way on the generous contribution of time and effort by the Program Committee and the additional reviewers. Their work is greatly appreciated. We also express our sincere thanks to the CAiSE Organizing Committee.


  1. Khaled Gaaloul, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg
  2. Sérgio Guerreiro: Universidade Lusófona de Humanidades e Tecnologias, Lisbon, Portugal
  3. Qin Ma, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg

Advisory committee:

  1. Terry Halpin, INTI International University, Malaysia
  2. John Krogstie, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) , Norway
  3. Henderik A. Proper, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg, and Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  4. Keng Siau, Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA


The proceedings with the accepted papers are included in the LNBIP series of Springer.

Program Committee

  1. Stephan Aier, University of St. Gallen, Switzerland
  2. Antonia Albani, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  3. Raian Ali, Lero, University of Limerick, Ireland
  4. Saïd ASSAR, Telecom Ecole de management, Paris, France
  5. David Aveiro, Madeira University, Portugal
  6. Eduard Babkin, Higher School of Economics, Moscow, Russia
  7. Herman Balsters, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
  8. Annie Becker, Florida Institute of Technology, USA
  9. Giuseppe Berio, University of Torino, Italy
  10. Nacer Boudjlida, Lorraine University, France
  11. Andy Carver, INTI International University, Malaysia
  12. François Charoy, Lorraine University, France
  13. Olfa chourabi, Telecom Ecole de management, Paris, France
  14. Olga De Troyer, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
  15. Marwane El Kharbili, Accenture GmbH, Germany
  16. John Erickson, University of Nebraska-Omaha, USA
  17. Peter Fettke, Institute for Information Systems (IWi) at the DFKI, Germany
  18. Wided Guedria, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg
  19. Remigijus Gustas, Karlstad University, Sweden
  20. Wolfgang Hesse, University of Marburg, Germany
  21. Stijn Hoppenbrouwers, Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands
  22. Philip Huysmans, University of Antwerp
  23. Jon Iden, Norges Handelshøyskole, Bergen, Norway
  24. Marite Kirikova, Riga Technical University, Latvia
  25. Bogdan Lent, University of Applied Sciences, Zurich, Switzerland
  26. Pericles Loucopoulos, Loughborough University, UK
  27. Kalle Lyytinen, Case Western Reserve University, US
  28. Leszek Maciaszek, Wroclaw University of Economics, Poland
  29. Florian Matthes, Technical University München, Germany
  30. Raimundas Matulevičius, University of Tartu, Estonia
  31. Graham McLeod, University of Cape Town, South Africa
  32. Rui Pedro Figueiredo Marques, University of Aveiro, Portugal
  33. Jan Mendling, Humboldt University, Berlin
  34. Tony Morgan, INTI International University, Malaysia
  35. Haralambos Mouratidis, University of East London, UK
  36. Andreas L. Opdahl, University of Bergen, Norway
  37. Sietse Overbeek, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
  38. Hervé Panetto, Lorraine University, France
  39. Barbara Pernici, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  40. Anne Persson, University of Skövde, Sweden
  41. Michaël Petit, University of Namur, Belgium
  42. Nuno Pombo, Universidade da Beira Interior, Portugal
  43. Paul Ralph, Lancaster University, UK
  44. Jolita Ralyté, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  45. Sudha Ram, University of Arizona, USA
  46. Michael Rosemann, Queensland University of Technology, Australia
  47. Matti Rossi, Helsinki School of Economics, Finland
  48. Kurt Sandkuhl, Jönköping University, Sweden
  49. Zohra Sbai, National Engineering School of Tunis, Tunisia
  50. Peretz Shoval, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
  51. Piotr Soja, Cracow Economic University, Poland
  52. Janis Stirna, Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
  53. Inge van de Weerd, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  54. Dirk van der Linden, Luxembourg Institute of Science & Technology - LIST, Luxembourg
  55. Johan Versendaal, University of Utrecht, The Netherlands
  56. Carson Woo, University of British Columbia, Canada
  57. Jelena Zdravkovic, Stockholm University
  58. Iryna Zolotaryova, Kharkiv National University of Economics, Ukraine
  59. Pär Ågerfalk, Uppsala University, Sweden